25 January: Mae Kuang – Mae Ho Phra Loop

We meet at 9:00 AM at the northeastern wall of Mae Kuang dam near the point where the ferry leaves (18.940346, 99.140532). Our trip begins with a ferry ride with our bikes to the northern shore of the Mae Kuang reservoir. From there, we ride up north following the road to Mae Ho Phra that leads through jungle and hills. At the forest park near Buatong waterfall, we continue on Rd. 1001 which soon turns west winding through the wilderness of Mae Ho Phra and Mae Faek. When we hit the Liap Klong Canal on the other side of the hills, we turn south to return to Chiang Mai along the picturesque canal road. The route is 76 km long and includes a 300m climb at the beginning of the loop which we follow in counter-clockwise direction. The rest of the route is flat and technically easy, as we ride on low-traffic roads suitable for any type of bicycle. Estimated duration is 5 hrs plus time for breaks and possible delays, so it may be a good idea to pack some snacks and bring sufficient water.

maehophramap

Ride Report

I waited until 9:30 AM but no one showed up, so I decided to do the tour on my own. The ferry was 200 THB for me and my bike; the ferryman told me it would be cheaper if there were more passengers. It took about 20 min to reach the other shore. The first 20 km led through dense jungle; the road was lonely, and I passed only one small village. There were a few army guys with M16s, perhaps drug sweeping smuggler routes. I reached Rd. 1001 in good time, so I decided to visit Buatong waterfall, which is only a 6 km detour. After lunch break at the waterfall, I continued at 12:15 PM to Mae Ho Phra, briefly visited a shiny new temple, and then on through the hills. I reached the canal at 1:45 PM. At the golf course, I started to tire a bit, so I went for a few stops to rest and refuel some electrolytes.

All in all it’s a fantastic road trip. Except for the northern section on Rd. 1001, the route leads along pleasant and quiet country roads with low traffic. Should be doable in 4 hrs or less on a road bike. On my MTB it took a bit longer. 🙂

DSC08829 DSC08843 DSC08874 DSC08883 DSC08886

One thought on “25 January: Mae Kuang – Mae Ho Phra Loop

  1. Oh I wish I made this trip, looked like great fun! Hopefully I’ll be able to make the next one on saturday. Miss the fun, I need stop with the late nights out…

Leave a comment